Explore Cathedral School

Admissions Calendar

Admission Timeline 2017 to 2018

Friday 24th November
2.00pm-3.30pm
Fact Finding Open Afternoon for Year 7 Entry 2018, including current Y6 parents. Welcome and presentation by the Head, in the Roald Dahl Studio followed by tours of the Senior Section with current pupils.
November to January Short interviews for all prospective Year 7 entrants for Entry 2018, with the Head or one of the Deputy Heads, Mr L Moon & Dr N Horleston and a Housemaster/mistress.
Friday 12th January
2018
Deadline for Year 7 Music, Sport and All-Rounder Scholarship applications. Application forms are available to download from the website.
Friday 19th January Taster Day for Registered Pupils for Year 7 Entry in September 2018. This is an opportunity to experience a typical day at The Cathedral School.
Saturday 20th January
8.30am-1.00pm
Entrance Testing for Registered Pupils for Year 7 Entry in September 2018.
(Results are used to identify potential Academic Scholars)
w/c Monday 22nd January Year 7 Entry in September 2018 Scholarships:
Music Scholarship auditions with the Director of Music, Mr P Aspden.
Sport Scholarship auditions with the Director of Sport Mr M Barrington.
All-Rounder auditions/assessments/interviews take place with relevant Heads of Departments.
w/c Monday 29th January Year 7 Entry in September 2018:
Academic Scholarship interviews - by invitation.
w/c Monday 5th February Year 7 Entry September 2018. Candidates with scholarships, places and waiting list allocations notified.
Wednesday 14th February Deadline for Y7 Bursary applications NB Full documentary evidence required.
Monday 26th February Year 7 Bursary outcomes notified.
Thursday 1st March Deadline to accept Year 7 Entry September 2018 offers. An acceptance deposit of £500 is required to confirm the place.
Tuesday 26th June Induction Day. Year 7 (Entry 2018 and current Cathedral School Y6 pupils) will be placed in their House group and will meet their House Tutor and Housemaster/mistress as well as experiencing lessons. Also transition day in the Primary School.
Wednesday 5th September 2018 Start of Michaelmas Term.
Friday 7th to
Sunday 9th
September (tbc)
TBC Year 7 Team Building weekend in Powys. Two night residential activity weekend at Manor Adventure in Powys. Optional however most pupils attend. Cost will be approximately £180 and must be paid in full by the end of April.  
Thursday 12th October
5.00pm-7.00pm
Sixth Form Options Evening - Meet the Head, Head of Sixth From and Heads of Faculty and discuss subject options for A level. Tours available with current Sixth Form students.
Friday 20th October Deadline for all Sixth Form Scholarship applications. Application forms are available to download from the website or from the Registrar.
Monday 6th November Deadline for all Sixth Form Bursary applications.
Saturday 11th November
8.30-2.30pm
Sixth Form Academic scholarship exams followed by lunch for candidates in the Refectory.
w/c Monday 20th November
and Monday 27th November
Sixth Form Academic Scholarship interviews for all candidates with Head and Head of Sixth Form.
w/c Monday 27th November Sixth Form Music and Sport assessments.
w/c Monday 11th December Results of all Sixth Form Scholarships and Means-Tested Bursaries notified.
Friday 12th January Deadline for acceptance of Sixth Form scholarship offers and places to be reserved for non-scholarship applicants.
Friday 16th February Deadline for A level option forms to be submitted to Head of Sixth Form or Director of Studies.
w/c 26th Feb Confirmation of Sixth Form for entry September 2018 place offers.
Friday 23rd March
(end of term)
Deadline for acceptance of places in the Sixth Form.
Tuesday 4th September
(Year 12)
Start of Michaelmas Term.
Saturday 7th October
10.00am-12.30pm
Whole School Open Morning
Thursday 12th October
5.00pm-7.00pm
Sixth Form Options Evening- meet the Head, Head of Sixth From and Heads of Faculty and discuss subject options for A level. Tours available with current Sixth Form students
Friday 24th November
2.00pm-3.30pm
Fact Finding open afternoon for Year 7 entry 2018, including current Y6 parents.  Welcome and presentation by the Head, in the Roald Dahl Studio followed by tours of the senior section with current pupils.
Wed 14th  Feb
9.30 to 11.30
Primary Open Morning-Nursery to Year 6
Wednesday 21st March
9.30 – 11.30
Senior Open Morning – Year 7-13
Tuesday 8th May
9.30 – 11.30
Primary Open Morning-Nursery to Y6
Wednesday 16th May Little Explorers Forest School for Nursery entry 2019
Wednesday 6th June
9.30 – 2.30
Discovery Day. A taster for current Year 5 pupils interested in joining us in Year 7 in September 2019

Wednesday 6th September

Fact Finding Open Afternoon for Year 7 Entry 2018

Fri 24th November 2017, 14:00-15:30
To book a place, please click here

Newsletter Sign Up